a lot of miles, a lot of thoughts…

Day 8. Yeah, not so pretty.

before 9 08

Definitely not pretty but that’s what I look like with no make up, hair yanked back and 8 miles in front of me. Thank goodness this isn’t a blog about beauty or a blog trying to impress anyone, I will have surely failed. Its a blog about determination, motivation, inspiration, and pure craziness. So, the picture fits.

Some runs are simply mind over matter. Or mind over body. Today was one of those runs. I simply had to talk myself through each mile. Not too far into the first mile I was already giving myself a way out. “Just make it to the fourth mile, that’s half way. You can walk or quit then. Just make it through the first four miles.” About half way into the second mile, I was trying to convince myself to even make it through that mile. But, then I kept going, “just a little further, run just a little longer.” Then heading into the fourth mile I was going downhill and I just kept going. I didn’t stop or walk after the fourth, I just kept running. I told myself I had less than 40 minutes left to run. That sounded so much better than 4 miles. I could run for 40 minutes, but for some reason I didn’t think I could run 4 miles.

And then, I hit the first stop light. I was doing so well. But, then, the stop light. Normally at the light, I hit the button and wait for the little white man to let me cross the street. While I’m waiting I do figure eights at the corner, mostly so my legs won’t lock up and I can keep a little momentum going. But, this light was long. And, then a short while later there was another light, and then another and then one more. Ugh!

But, I kept going. I was still running and now I only had to run another 30 minutes or so. I could do this. And, then it when I had a little over 20 minutes left to run something stopped my legs. I’m not sure what happened, but they just stopped running and I started walking. “What? Who said we could walk? Who gave THAT okay?” But, they just wouldn’t go. Less than 20 minutes and I couldn’t get them to go. When Sheila said we hit the 7 mile mark all of a sudden the legs went back into run mode and we ran the rest of the way. Well, not really a run, but faster than a walk, probably more like a jog. 🙂

And when Sheila said “distance 8.0 miles” I sat down under a tree and snapped this pic…

after 9 08

Yep, that’s Death Warmed Over. She’s pretty cute, huh?

When I got home I took off my shoes and look what I found!

first blister 9 08

Can you believe it? My FIRST blister! Wow! And, a blood one at that. Nice. I feel like I’ve finally arrived.

And then later… another first.

ice bath 9 08

No joke, an ice bath. My legs are sore. I read somewhere that an ice bath can really make a difference. So, I tried it. It wasn’t like a full on ice bath, but it was a start and if I can get up and run tomorrow, then I’ll probably take another one with a little more ice. 🙂

So… day 8. 8 miles, all at once. Its gonna be a long month! (And I’m LOVING it!)

run 9 08

Leave a Reply

