a lot of miles, a lot of thoughts…

I have found that if I run a few hours AFTER I wake up then my legs have had a chance to wake up, warm up and rise to the occassion. So, on this day, I waited til just before 9 to start my run. I had breakfast; I had done some work from my computer; I felt ready to run!

IMG_2358

My legs felt surprisingly good. The treadmill runs the day before really helped. My goal was to do at least 8 miles, more if I could, but at least 8. So, I plotted a new route and headed out!

As I was running I thought about all I have been through this past week or so. Emotionally, I was a wreck. Physically, I was beat. But, when I reached out and asked for a little support… things began to change. My right ankle was working again, although my left ankle was giving me some trouble, it wasn’t anything like I had experienced. I really thought, “I may actually enjoy this challenge after all!”

I added an extra loop to the run and tried to avoid stop lights. They kill my momentum. But that last gnarly hill? Yeah, it got me. Plus, my legs started getting super sore so I did walk a bit at the end, but over all it was a good morning run.

IMG_2361

The picture shows my fatigue (LOL). But, the run was over, I was home and I was over half way done for the day.

IMG_2359

That afternoon we took my older son to the doctor. He still wasn’t acting quite right from the concussion. We were told that what he was experiencing was still pretty normal and not to get too alarmed yet. Its just weird when your kid doesn’t act like your kid. Scary, but we are following doctor’s orders and praying for a full recovery.

I then headed to the Cheetah practice. They ran a VO2 workout so I started my last 6+ miles when they were done. Around, and around, and around, and around the track I went. First the football team finished their practice and then the band began their practice. I’m sure they were wondering who the crazy lady was running circles around them, literally. My legs started giving out in the last few miles, so I would walk one curve and run a 300, walk a curve, run a 300. And finally, mercifully, Sheila told me I hit my mark.

Smiling, ready to go!
IMG_2363

The track I ran around under the lights.
B152483C-708A-4F6D-B515-2B6916687E2A

And just like that, day 16 in the books!
IMG_2365

When you set a goal realize that there will be challenges, obstacles and maybe even plan changers. But, don’t give up. Find a way, make a way, ask for help, ask for guidance. Just don’t give up. If its a goal that is really important to you, for whatever reason, don’t give up. Dig deep. Adjust your mindset. Put a little ice on it.

And, don’t give up.
Never give up

Leave a Reply

