a lot of miles, a lot of thoughts…

I live in beautiful sunny San Diego, or at least on the outskirts of San Diego, and you would think that I would run outside ALL the time. The weather is usually perfect and there’s many great places to run. But sometimes, I need to run before the sun is up or after it has gone down, I don’t want to drive to that perfect place to run, I don’t want to navigate the neighborhood hills and I just want to jump on the treadmill.

Day 19, that’s what I did. I had spent a lot of time on the roads during day 17 and 18. My ankles were a bit beat up and the mill is forgiving to them.

So, early morning I wake up, head to the back room and start the first slow run/walk…

IMG_2417

IMG_2420

IMG_2422

An hour or so later, (I had to take my sons to school) I headed back again to the mill…

IMG_2423

IMG_2428

IMG_2431

Before heading out to the high school practice which I knew was going to be more drills and not really any running, I met up with Mill once again…

IMG_2432

IMG_2437

IMG_2438

After the high school practice I took my older son home (he’s still not driving due to his concussion) and then headed to my younger son’s curriculum night at the middle school. Knowing that I still had 6 miles left to put in, I tried to stay as upbeat as I could.

IMG_2439

IMG_2443

IMG_2444

You may be wondering does she work? does she see her family? does she spend time with her husband? or does she just run? Well… yes, I work. I have the ability to work from home. I do see my family… before school, after school, after football/cross country practice, during dinner (which is usually pretty late) and before they go to bed. My husband also works during the day, coaches our younger son’s football team and is going back to school. So, while I run, if he’s at home, he’s doing homework. But I see him in the morning, sometimes between activities, and at night when the day is finally over. And, yes, when I’m not playing chauffeur, negotiating, coaching, attending school functions, then I’m running. The housework can wait, I really will schedule that grooming appointment for my dog, and I will work on putting the stuff in the new closets that my husband built… in Octbober. 🙂 Just a few more days.

Leave a Reply

